12 sept 2016 mk2 and Fabula Entertainment Enter Major Franco-Chinese Partnership

 

Paris-based mk2 has signed a partnership with Chinese auteur Jia Zhangke’s Shanghai-based Fabula Entertainment. This partnership includes production and distribution, exhibition as well as Virtual Reality content.

 

mk2 and Fabula Entertainment have joined forces to co-develop and co-produce films as well as to promote and distribute the best in Asian cinema worldwide. mk2 will also support Fabula Entertainment in the development of their newly created Open Village, a network of cinema theatres in Mainland China. In addition, the partnership includes co-development and co-production of Virtual Reality (VR) and Augmented Reality (AR) content as well as upcoming VR centers in China.

“We are very proud to continue our collaboration with Jia Zhangke on a larger scale and to actively participate in the future development of Chinese cinema as well as the promotion of the best in world cinema in China” says mk2 CEO Nathanaël Karmitz. “Joining forces with Jia Zhangke is a natural thing to do. Our relationship was established years ago when mk2 started operating as the international sales agent for his films”.

“It’s been eight years since I started collaborating with mk2 on 24 City in 2008” explains Jia Zhangke. “Now there will be a more extensive collaboration between my own company Fabula and mk2: from making movies to building cinemas. I believe that the spirit of mk2 will help us improve the quality of films and cinemas here in China, and thereby share the most creative films in the world with the people in China. This is a rather exciting project because, far from Hollywood, the collaboration with a company like mk2 will for sure contribute to the preservation of cultural diversity in this ancient country”.

 

mk2

In addition to its activities in film production, international sales and distribution of a film catalogue of 600 titles, mk2 has 40 years of experience as a film exhibitor and operates more than 20 theatres in Europe. mk2 has always strived to be innovative by incorporating book shops, restaurants and concept stores in its arthouse multiplexes designed by top architects and designers. Recent developments include private cinemas for hire, large-scale pop-up cinemas, and events combining film screenings with gastronomy, music and gaming.

 

mk2 and Jia Zhangke

24 City (2008) – International sales
I Wish I Knew (2010, Cannes Un Certain Regard) – International sales
A Touch of Sin (2013, Cannes Best Screenplay) – International sales
Jia Zhangke, A Guy From Fenyang (2015, documentary by Walter Salles) – International Sales
Mountains May Depart (2015, Cannes Official Selection) – Coproduction & International Sales

 

Fabula Entertainment

Fabula Entertainment launched in May 2016 is an integrated company that develops, finances and produces commercials, films and creative content for the Chinese and the international market. Chinese director Jia Zhangke is the founder, chairman of the board and major shareholder. Fabula Entertainment is also active in film education and film related lifestyle.

08 feb 2017

mk2 films and Protagonist Pictures join forces to sell new Pawel Pawlikowski film COLD WAR

mk2 films and Protagonist Pictures have teamed up to handle worldwide sales...

10 may 2017

New addition to mk2 film’s Cannes 2017 lineup!

AprilsDaughter by Michel Franco starring Emma Suárez is in Official Selection Un Certain Regard.

15 nov 2017

Until the Birds Return awarded at Carthage Film Festival

Until the Birds Return receives an Award for Best Editing at the 28th edition of Carthage Film Festival (Tunisia)....

14 dec 2017

LOST IN PARIS ranked amongst Peter Debruge’s 10 Best Films of 2017

LOST IN PARIS by Dominique Abel and Fiona Gordon starring Academy Award nominee Emmanuelle...

12 sept 2016 mk2 et Fabula Entertainment ont conclu un accord de partenariat franco-chinois

 

mk2 et Fabula Entertainment ont uni leurs forces pour co-développer et co-produire des films, ainsi que promouvoir et distribuer dans le monde le meilleur du cinéma asiatique. mk2 soutiendra également Fabula Entertainment dans le développement d’Open village, un réseau de salles de cinéma récemment créé en Chine continentale. De plus, le partenariat comprend la co-production et le co-développement du contenu en réalité virtuelle (VR) et en réalité augmentée (AR), ainsi que de lieux dédiés à la réalité virtuelle en Chine.

« Nous sommes très fiers de poursuivre notre collaboration avec Jia Zhangke à une plus grande échelle, et de participer activement au futur développement du cinéma chinois et à la promotion du meilleur du cinéma mondial en Chine » a déclaré Nathanaël Karmitz, Président du Directoire mk2. « Cette collaboration avec Jia Zhangke nous a paru naturelle. Notre relation a été établie il y a des années, quand mk2 a commencé à opérer les ventes internationales de ses films. »

« Je collabore avec mk2 depuis 24 City, il y a huit ans, en 2008 », explique Jia Zhangke. « Maintenant, il y aura une collaboration plus large entre ma société Fabula et mk2, de la fabrication des films à la construction de salles de cinéma. Je suis convaincu que l’esprit de mk2 nous aidera à améliorer la qualité des films et des salles ici en Chine, et ainsi à partager les films les plus créatifs du monde avec les chinois. Ce projet est assez excitant parce que, à des lieues d’Hollywood, collaborer avec une société comme mk2 contribuera à coup sûr à préserver la diversité culturelle dans ce pays antique. »

mk2
En plus de ses activités dans la production cinématographique, les ventes internationales et la distribution d’un catalogue de films de 600 titres, mk2 fait montre d’un savoir-faire de plus de 40 ans dans l’exploitation de salles de cinéma et gère un réseau de plus de 20 cinémas en Europe. mk2 s’est toujours attaché à innover en intégrant les librairies, restaurants et concept-stores dans ses multiplexes conçus par les plus grands architectes et designers. Les développements récents comprennent des salles de cinéma sur-mesure, des cinémas éphémères à grande échelle, et des événements combinant projections de films, gastronomie, musique et jeux vidéos.

mk2 et Jia Zhangke
24 City (2008) – Ventes internationales
I Wish I Knew (2010, Cannes Un Certain Regard) – Ventes internationales
A Touch of Sin (2013, Cannes, Prix du Meilleur Scénario) – Ventes internationales
Jia Zhangke, un gars de Fenyang (2015, documentaire réalisé par Walter Salles) – Ventes internationales
Au-delà des Montagnes (2015, Canne, sélection officielle) – Coproduction & Ventes internationales

Fabula Entertainment
Fabula Entertainment, lancé en mai 2016, est une société intégrée qui développe, finance et produit des publicités, des films et des contenus créatifs pour les marchés chinois et international. Le réalisateur Chinois Jia Zhangke est le fondateur, président du conseil et actionnaire majoritaire. Fabula Entertainment est également actif dans l’éducation à l’image et les film lifestyle.

 

20 mar 2012

mk2 au Carnaval Colette

A Paris, le week-end du 10 mars fut placé sous le signe du divertissement & du jeu grâce à la marque « Colette »...

25 juil 2016

L’ARGENT de Robert Bresson sélectionné à la Mostra de Venise 2016

La nouvelle version restaurée de L’ARGENT de Robert Bresson sera présentée à...

14 sept 2016

UNE VIE reçoit le Prix FIPRESCI à la Mostra de Venise

  Le film de Stéphane Brizé UNE VIE a reçu le Prix FIPRESCI lors de la 73è édition de la Mostra...

05 juil 2017

Les meilleurs films du XXIème siècle

Selon IndieWire, la liste des 25 meilleurs films français du XXIème siècle (pour l’instant) inclut deux films du réalisateur...